Cancer? I laughed so hard I cried.

I’ve been reading a lot about cancer lately. As in, a lot more than usual. More on this later. For now, I just want to take a moment here to publicly profess my love for Tania Katan. I’ll admit, I was a little put off by the cupcake on the cover of her memoir, My One Night Stand With Cancer, when I picked it up alongside Geralyn Lucas’ Why I Wore Lipstick to My Mastectomy (which I’ll feign to reserve judgement on, as I’ve not yet read it).

But Tania. Katan. Kicks. Ass. Jewish, queer, BRCA-positive, comic, writer, two time breast cancer survivor (at 21 and 31). And she’s turned it into a one-woman show: Saving Tania’s Privates. Trailer:

I love women with cancer. I love funny women. Funny women with cancer…amazing.

Which is why I’m sort of enamored with this girl–author of the blog Cancer is Hilarious and the forthcoming “world’s awesomest comic book,” Terminally Illin’.

2 Comments

Filed under uncategorized

2 responses to “Cancer? I laughed so hard I cried.

  1. Amy

    Thanks for sharing this. I’m glad I found your blog today!

    I read Why I wore Lipstick, liked it, hope you do too. (Actually, I read it before I had cancer. I’m thinking about reading it again to see if it sits different this time.) I just listened to Lopsided: How Having Breast Cancer Can Be Really Distracting as a book on CD. Another funny BC survivor.

  2. emily

    Hi Amy,
    Thanks for commenting. Have been reading your blog. I actually read Lopsided two days ago–thumbs up.
    Emily

Leave a Reply

